How to set permissions for items in macOS Sierra

You can set permissions for items on macOS Sierra if you wish. Permission settings determine who can view and alter files on the computer. You change permission settings at the bottom of the Info window for a file, folder, or disk in the Finder. 

(The Finder is the home base for your Mac. You use it to organize and access almost everything on your Mac, including documents, images, movies, and any other files you have.)

Okay, back to permissions. For example, you can change permission settings for a folder so that other users who log in to your Mac, or connect to it for file sharing, can view but not change files in a folder. To assign permissions to users and groups:

  • Select a disk, folder, or file, then choose File > Get Info.
  • If the information in Sharing & Permissions isn’t visible, click the disclosure triangle.
  • If necessary, click the lock iconto unlock it, then enter an administrator name and password.
  • Click a user or group in the Name column, then choose a privilege setting from the pop-up menu. 
  • Read & Write: Allows a user to open the item and change it.
  • Read Only: Allows a user to open the item, but not change its contents.
  • Write Only: Makes a folder into a drop box. Users can copy items to the drop box, but can’t open it. Only the owner of the drop box can open it.
  • No Access: Blocks all access to the item.

You can also apply permissions to all items in a folder or a disk. To do so:

  • Select a folder or a disk, then choose File > Get Info.
  • Click the lock iconto unlock it, then enter an administrator name and password.
  • Click the Action pop-up menu , then choose “Apply to enclosed items.”
  • To change an item’s owner:
  • Select the item, then choose File > Get Info.
  • Click the lock iconto unlock it, then enter an administrator name and password.
  • If the new owner’s name isn’t listed in the Name column in the Sharing & Permissions section, click the Add buttonto add the new owner.
  • Select the new owner in the Name column, click the Action pop-up menu, then choose “Make __ the owner.” 

To add or remove a user or group in the Name column:

  • Select an item, then choose File > Get Info.
  • If you don’t own the item, click the lock iconto unlock it, then enter an administrator name and password.
  • In the Sharing & Permissions section, do one of the following:
  • Add a user or group: Click the Add buttonbelow the list, select a user or group, then click Select.
  • Remove a user or group: Select the user or group, then click the Remove buttonbelow the list.

You can undo any changes made in the Sharing & Permissions section of an Info window since opening it, except applying permissions to all the items in a folder or disk. Here’s how:

  • Make sure the Info window remains open after making your changes.
  • Click the Action pop-up menu , then choose “Revert changes.”