Daily TipsiPadiPhone

How to share your screen on a FaceTime call on an iPhone or iPad

You can share your screen on a FaceTime call on an iPhone or iPad if you’re running iOS 15.1 or iPadOS 15.1 or later. Let’s look at how.

To share your screen

  1. Start a FaceTime call.
  2. Tap the Share Content button.
  3. Tap Share My Screen.

Everyone can see what’s on your screen until you stop sharing, but they can’t control anything on your device. If you get any notifications while sharing your screen, others won’t be able to see them.

When you’re sharing your screen, others won’t be able to see content that requires a subscription, a free trial, or a purchase or rental to view. With SharePlay, you can watch video together, listen to music together, or work out together by sharing content through supported apps. But we’ll look at SharePlay in a later article.

How to join a screen sharing session

In a FaceTime call, tap Open next to Join Screen Sharing.

How to take over screen sharing from someone else

  1. Tap the Share Content button.
  2. Tap Share My Screen.
  3. Tap Replace Existing.

End a screen sharing session

At the top of the FaceTime call, tap the Share Content button again to stop sharing your screen.

(This how-to is based on my experiences and info on Apple’s support pages.)

Dennis Sellers
the authorDennis Sellers
Dennis Sellers is the editor/publisher of Apple World Today. He’s been an “Apple journalist” since 1995 (starting with the first big Apple news site, MacCentral). He loves to read, run, play sports, and watch movies.