Daily TipsiPad

How to erase your browsing history in iPadOS 14

It’s easy to erase your browsing history in iPadOS 14. What’s more, you can visit sites without “making history.”

To erase your browsing history and data, go to Go to Settings > Safari > Clear History and Website Data.

To visit sites without making history, Tap the tab icon in the top right of the screen (it looks like two overlapping screens), then tap Private.

While Private Browsing Mode is on, the Safari background is black instead of white, and sites you visit don’t appear in History on iPad or in the list of tabs on your other devices.

To hide the sites and exit Private Browsing Mode, tap , then tap Private again. The sites reappear the next time you use Private Browsing Mode.

(This how-to is based on my experiences and info on Apple’s support pages — where the images sometimes come from.)

Dennis Sellers
the authorDennis Sellers
Dennis Sellers is the news editor of Apple World Today. He’s been an “Apple journalist” since 1995 (starting with the first big Apple news site, MacCentral). He loves to read, run, play sports, and watch movies.